Alcohol and Substance Use/Abuse:

Alcoholics Anonymous - AA of Vermont:  http://www.aavt.org/

Above the Influence:  http://abovetheinfluence.com/

Al-Anon and Alateen of Vermont:  https://www.vermontalanonalateen.org/

At Wit's End: Substance abuse support for parents, families, and friends.  802-775-0402 

Confidential Online Alcohol Screener:  http://www.alcoholscreening.org/Home.aspx

Drug Enforcement Administration:  https://www.dea.gov/index.shtml

Faces of Meth:  https://www.rehabs.com/explore/meth-before-and-after-drugs/infographic.php#.Wfc3PYFSzrc

Marijuana:  https://www.drugabuse.gov/publications/drugfacts/marijuana

National Association for Children of Alcoholics:  https://nacoa.org/

National Data on Substance Use:  https://www.samhsa.gov/capt/tools-learning-resources/national-data-sources      

National Institute on Drug Abuse:  https://www.drugabuse.gov/

Parent Resources for Alcohol and Substance Use of their Children/Parent Up for Vermont:  www.parentupvt.org

Partnership for Drug-Free Kids:  https://drugfree.org/resources/

Red Ribbon Week:  http://redribbon.org/about/

Signs and Symptoms of Substance Abuse:  http://www.phoenixhouse.org/prevention/signs-and-symptoms-of-substance-abuse/

To report an underage drinking party (adults or students) before it happens or during:
1-866-833-6873 (1-866-TEEN-USE) or Text-A-Tip:  802-296-1746

Vermont Alcohol and Drug Abuse Network of Programs and Services:  http://www.healthvermont.gov/alcohol-drugs/services

What to do for Helping Someone with Substance Issues:  http://www.phoenixhouse.org/faq/what-to-do-if-someone-in-your-family-has-a-problem/   

 

Tobacco/Vaping/E-Cigarettes:

802 Quits:  http://802quits.org/

Electronic Cigarettes (E-Cigs):  https://www.drugabuse.gov/publications/drugfacts/electronic-cigarettes-e-cigarettes

E-Cigs create toxic vapors from harmless e-liquids:  https://www.sciencenewsforstudents.org/article/e-cigs-create-toxic-vapors-harmless-e-liquids

Great American Smokeout:  https://www.cancer.org/healthy/stay-away-from-tobacco/great-american-smokeout.html

Kick Butts Day:  http://www.kickbuttsday.org/

Living Tobacco-Free:  http://downanddirtylife.com/videos/

Teen Vaping Soars Past Cigarette Use:  https://www.sciencenewsforstudents.org/article/teen-vaping-soars-past-cigarette-use

Vaping-Concerns over health risks:  https://www.sciencenewsforstudents.org/article/concerns-explode-over-new-health-risks-vaping

Vape Tricks-Health Risks:  https://www.sciencenewsforstudents.org/article/vape-tricks-could-increase-health-risks-experts-warn

 

Mental Health/Suicide Prevention: 

40 Developmental Assets:  http://www.search-institute.org/content/40-developmental-assets-adolescents-ages-12-18

BAYADA Bereavement Group: Support for those who are grieving the loss of a loved one.  802-282-4122

Compassionate Friends; for bereaved parents:  802-446-2278

NAMI (National Alliance on Mental Illness):  800-639-6480 or http://namivt.org/

Outright Vermont:  http://www.outrightvt.org/

Parents Webinar on Self-Injury by Dr. Wendy Lader:  http://safealt.evsuite.com/parentseminar7272423175/

Prevent Child Abuse Vermont:  https://pcavt.org/

Resources for Sexual Abuse Vermont and Domestic Violence Vermont:  http://www.vtnetwork.org/

Rutland Mental Health Crisis Line:  Available 24 hours - 7 days a week: Adult Services - 802-775-1000 or Child/Family Services - 802-773-4225

Rutland Mental Health Services: https://www.rmhsccn.org/

Self-Injury:  https://selfinjury.com/

Signs and Symptoms of Sexual Abuse:  http://www.parentsprotect.co.uk/warning_signs.htm

U-Matter Youth Suicide Prevention Program:  http://www.umatterucangethelp.com/

Vermont 2-1-1: Dial 2-1-1 to get information about thousands of resources across Vermont, or visit http://www.vermont211.org/

Vermont Network Against Domestic & Sexual Violence:  https://vtnetwork.org/

Vermont Suicide Prevention Center:  http://vtspc.org/     

Vermont Text Crisis Line:  741741       24 hours a day             

Vermont Youth Risk Behavior Survey:  http://www.healthvermont.gov/health-statistics-vital-records/population-health-surveys-data/youth-risk-behavior-survey-yrbs

WISE Upper Valley, Domestic Violence, Sexual Assault, & Stalking1-866-348-9473 http://www.wiseuv.org/

World Suicide Prevention Day:  https://iasp.info/wspd2017/

 

Counseling and Treatment:

Brattleboro Retreat:  https://www.brattlebororetreat.org/

Clara Martin Center:  http://www.claramartin.org/

Counseling Services of Addison County:  http://www.csac-vt.org/

Health Care & Rehabilitation Services:  http://www.hcrs.org/

Second Growth:  http://www.secondgrowth.org/home/

Turning Point Recovery Center:  https://spfldturningpoint.squarespace.com/

Valley Vista:  http://www.vvista.net/

 

Medical Services:

The Good Neighbor Health Clinic (http://www.goodneighborhealthclinic.org.), in White River Junction, Vermont, with satellite clinics in New Hampshire, is a non-profit free health care facility established in 1992. It offers free primary medical and dental care to residents throughout the Upper Connecticut River Valley who are either uninsured or lack the resources to obtain health care.

If you fall in these criteria and need medical care call 802-295-1868

Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center:  http://www.dartmouth-hitchcock.org/

Mount Ascutney Hospital and Health Center:  http://www.mtascutneyhospital.org/

 

Mentoring Program:

OCP's Mentor and Buddy Program:  http://www.ocpvt.org/mentoring-and-buddy-programs/

Vermont's Mentoring Partnership:  https://www.mobiusmentors.org/

 

Apps for Phone Monitoring:

 

Social Media to be Aware of:

Common Sense Media:  https://www.commonsensemedia.org/

Safety Beyond Facebook:  https://www.familyeducation.com/fun/mobile-apps/safety-beyond-facebook-12-social-media-apps-every-parent-should-know-about

 

After School

ASKfm

Blendr

Ditty

Down 

Google+

GroupMe

Instagram

Jott Messenger

Kik Messenger

MrOwl

Netflix

Omegle

OoVoo

Path

Pinterest

Poof

Signal

Snapchat

tbh

Telegram                                                                                                                                                                                                                                 

Tinder

Tumblr

Twitter

Viber

Vine Camera

Wanelo

WeChat

WhatsApp

Whisper

Yik Yak

Yo

YouTube

 

Contact Us

WUHSMS
100 Amsden Way
Woodstock, Vermont 05091

  • High School: (802) 457- 1317
  • Middle School: (802) 457- 1330

Connect with us

We're on Social Networks. Follow us & get in touch.